My New Productivity Methodology

All productivity methodologies work in the beginning — they make you excited about doing things, and so you do things. For many, this can be as simple as just switching TODO manager software…

Therefore, everything in this post should be taken with a grain of salt, and also as something that does not necessarily apply to others. I have a TODO list manager, which means at least I know what I want to do. Therefore, I devised the following methodology: every weekday, wake up at 5:30am (this can be accomplished with an alarm clock). From 5:30am-6:30am, pick something on the TODO list, and work on it.

Things to do to improve this:

  • Spend the first 15 minutes doing physical exercise. This will get me to do more exercise, as well as waking me up.
  • Spend the next 15 minutes doing my other new idea, which is to write down all problems I faced throughout the day, how I solved them, and spend a minute on each one to see whether I could have come up with other solutions.
4 Responses to My New Productivity Methodology

  1. Bo says:

    > All productivity methodologies work in the beginning — they make you excited about doing things, and so you do things

    Story of my life.

  2. Evelyn says:

    Learning how to learn is a big project. Please keep us informed on what you discover.

  3. Evelyn says:

    How’s this going, moshez?

    • moshez says:

      So far it’s going well. It’s mostly divided into:
      5:30-6am: Go over e-mail (work&personal) and try clearing inboxes. This means the only things left are actual things I have to work on.
      6am-6:30am: Pick one item from my TODO list, try to finish it or at least progress towards finishing it.

      I am 3/4th through the short story I was working on, managed to change my password on CloudFoundry.com without using Ruby, wrote reviews on a couple of chapters for a book, activated debit card, updated Costco membership, shredded some personal things. I’m extremely happy with it!

Leave a Reply

