The Future of Books

[I wrote this in the NaNoWriMo forum, after growing sick of the nth post of how books have smell and are so much nicer than e-book readers.]

I don’t think the handwritten book is going away anytime soon. I, for one, love the feeling of a hand-copied book in my hands, as I sit down to read it. Will mass-printed books be popular? Sure! But without the elaborate illustrations (printing technology still cannot do this, and I doubt it ever will be), or the feeling of an expert master of the pen, giving each word *just* the right feel to it, I don’t think they will every replace the hand-copied books. Those monks are not going to be replaced by machines anytime soon!

Ummm…..wait. I just checked my calendar. Here’s what I really meant to write:

I don’t think the storytellers are going to go away anytime soon. I, for one, love sitting by the fire and feeling the words of the storyteller wash over me. Will written books be popular? Sure! But without the ability to be customized to the audience, and without the ability to be understood even without the need to learn the alphabet, I don’t think they will ever replace the storytellers. They aren’t going to be replaced by the monks anytime soon!

Did I get that wrong? Oh, right.

I don’t think the paper books are going to go away anytime soon. I, for one, love the feeling of paper in my hands as I sit down to read a book. Will e-books be popular? Sure! But without better resolution (print resolution is still 10x that of eInk resolution) or the ability to work for days without power, I doubt they will ever replace the paper books. The books aren’t going to be replaced by screens anytime soon.

I think I finally have the correct rant for the time period. Please call me in 50 years so I can write the rant about how direct-to-neural books will never replace e-books.



One Response to The Future of Books

  1. Jonathan D. says:

    I love this one!

Leave a Reply

